History of Monmouthshire

by Sir Joseph Alfred Bradney

Originally published in twelve parts between 1904 and the author's death in 1933, Bradney's monumental survey, extensively illustrated and containing dozens of pedigrees, remains a basic reference work essential for the serious study of local history or genealogy in Monmouthshire. This facsimile edition consists of nine uniform hardback volumes, containing the entire text of the original edition, including preliminary matter, indexes and illustrations, reduced to about 80 per cent of full size. The first two volumes listed here are out of print but are included to provide a complete bibliographical record.

Volume 1 Part 1: The Hundred of Skenfrith. Includes Monmouth, Dixton, Rockfield, Wonastow, Llangattock-vibon-avel, St Maughan's, Skenfrith, Grosmont, Llangua, Llantilio Crosseny, part of Llanfihangel-ystern-llewern and Welsh Bicknor.

144 pages. ISBN: 1 873361 09 2

Volume 1 Part 2a: The Hundred of Abergavenny Part 1. Includes Abergavenny, Llantilio Pertholey, Llanfihangel Crucorney, Oldcastle, Cwmyoy, Llangattock Lingoed, Llanvetherine, Llanddewi Scyrrid, Llanddewi Rhydderch and Llanvapley.

56 pages. ISBN: 1 873361 12 2

Volume 1 Part 2b: The Hundred of Abergavenny Part 2. Includes Llanarth, Llansantffraid, Llanfihangel-nigh-Usk, Llangattock-nigh-Usk, Llanwenarth, Llanfoist, Llanelen, Llanover, Llanfair Cilgedin, Goitre, Mamhilad, Trevethin, Llanhileth and Aberystruth.

217 pages. ISBN: 1 873361 13 0

Volume 2 Part 1: The Hundred of Raglan. Includes Raglan, Llandenny, Dingestow, Tregaer, Penrhos, Bryngwyn, Bettws Newydd, Clytha, Parc Grace Dieu and Llanfihangel-ystern-llewern.

128 pages. ISBN: 1 873361 15 7

Volume 2 Part 2: The Hundred of Trelech. Includes Trelech, Penallt, Mitchel Troy, Cwmcarvan, Pen-y-clawdd, Llangoven, Llandogo, Llansoy, Llan_hangel-tor-y-mynydd, Wolvesnewton, Cilgwrwg, Llanishen, Trelech Grange, Tintern Parva and Chapel Hill.

159 pages. ISBN: 1 873361 16 5

Volume 3 Part 1: The Hundred of Usk Part 1. Includes Usk, Gwehelog, Glascoed, Monkswood, Llanbadock, Trostry, Kemeys Commander and Llangibby.

128 pages. ISBN: 1 873361 17 3 £17.95

Volume 3 Part 2: The Hundred of Usk Part 2. Includes Panteg, Llan_hangel Pont-y-moel, Gwernesney, Llangeview, Llanllowel, Llantrisant, Llangwm Ucha and Isha, Kemeys Inferior, Caerlleon and Llangattock, Llanfihangel Llantarnam, Llanhenog, Tredunnock, Llandegveth, Llanddewi Fach and Llanvrechfa.

207 pages. ISBN: 0 09520009 3 8 £22.95

Volume 4 Part 1: The Hundred of Caldicot Part 1. Includes Chepstow, St Arvans, Penterry, Mounton, Mathern, St Pierre, Runstone, Portskewet, Caldicot, Ifton, Caerwent and Wentwood Forest.

148 pages.  ISBN: 0 9520009 4 6 £22.95

Volume 4 Part 2: The Hundred of Caldicot Part 2. 1 Includes Shirenewton, Newchurch, Itton, Howick, Dinham, Llanfair Discoed, Llanvaches, Penhow, Langstone, Additions to Kemeys Inferior, Llanmartin, Llandevaud, Wilcrick, St Brides Netherwent, Llandevenny, Magor, Redwick, Llanwern, Bishton, Undy, Rogiet, Llan_hangel Rogiet, Goldcliff, Whitson, Nash, Christchurch.

98 pages. ISBN: 0 9520009 5 4  £22.95

browse alphabeticallyarrow

browse welsh historyarrow


Details: see left

ISBNs: see left
£ see left